The History of Shadow Lawn Inn When it was 'Karsalie'
King Edward VII passed through this part of Saint John in 1860 and the residents decided to name the area after his title, Duke of Cornwall and Rothesay. The tree-lined roadway that leads into the community and the beautifully maintained 19th century mansions mark Rothesay as a w
ealthy extension of old Saint John.It was here in 1870 that Mr. James F. Robertson built 'Karsalie', a stately mansion that he used as his summer home. Mr. Robertson was a founding partner and later president of MRA's (Manchester, Robertson and Allison), the largest department store in the City of Saint John.
The Birth of 'Shadow Lawn'
When Mr. Robertson passed away in 1921, the house was sold to his nephew, Percy Thomson. One change Mr. Thomson made was to rename Karsalie. Over the decades, the cedar hedges, fully grown and their shadows with those of the birch, maple, oak and elm trees that graced the lawns, were cast across the grounds. From this came the name 'Shadow Lawn'. It was in 1946 that Shadow Lawn began to change from a family home to an Inn. The Flemming family, who purchased the property, began to provide accommodation to seniors and offer catering services. The next owners, Willie and Jean Ward began to expand upon the original concept of catering and hospitality and created a unique and enjoyable inn.
In 1986 the Inn was sold to Patrick and Margaret Gallagher. Under their guidance Shadow Lawn has evolved into one of Atlantic Canada's premier inns bearing international acclaim.
As of July 1, 2010, Patrick and Margaret's son, James and his wife Mary Ann (McGuire), have become the current owners of Shadow Lawn Inn. With the help of their parents, they made gradual changes to the Inn and are attracting new visitors from all over the world.